Our governance

St John of God Hauora Trust is a division of St John of God Health Care and is accountable, via our Trustees, chief executive officer and leadership team, for the governance and management of services in New Zealand.

Peter Jensen – MBA, CMInstD

Peter Jensen is the Board Chair, having joined the Board of Trustees in April 2018 and then assuming the role of Chair upon Bevan Killick's retirement later that year. Peter has previously held several high profile Chief Executive roles in complex businesses in the Construction, Insurance and Sports sector. Having chosen to step away from executive roles, he now focuses on governance and works with a number of organisations to assist with strategic planning and growth-focussed business advisory. Peter's current board roles include the Christchurch West Coast Air Rescue Trust, Miles Construction Ltd and the Hagley Group.


Tim Burns – BA, BCA

Tim Burns joined the board in 2016. He brings extensive governance and senior management experience in the health services, social services and the wider community voluntary sector. More recently he has served a term as a member of the Parole Board and is currently a lay member of the Health Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal. 


Nancy Ward – CMinstD, MBA, C.A.

Nancy Ward is an experienced director with over 30 years of diverse leadership expertise and experience including Chief Executive, Chief Financial Officer and consulting roles in not-for profit, State Owned Enterprise and Central/Local Government Authority. She has worked in sectors including community, education, tourism, social housing, conservation, IT and mining, in organisations with revenue from $3 million to $500 million and assets of up to $4.7 billion. Currently Nancy is a management consultant specialising in strategic and organisational review and development, financial management and business cases.


Dr Kristin Good

Dr Good is a general medical practitioner who has significant clinical governance and operational experience, with proven success in design and implementation of new services and is currently a Clinical Director for Manaia Health PHO. Dr Good holds extensive strategic leadership experience on the senior management team at Auckland District Health Board as a Director of Primary Care in Mental Health and Addictions. Her projects as Director of Primary Care included reducing physical health inequitable patients with serious mental illness and improving integrated care across the primary/secondary continuum. As the New Zealand representative on the ePPOC (Electronic Persistent Pain Outcomes Collaboration) Scientific and Clinical Advisory Committee Kristin worked to improve services and outcomes for patients suffering with chronic pain through benchmarking of care and treatment. Dr Good also has extensive experience working with Accident Compensation Corporation (ACC) as a senior medical advisor. Through this work Kristin supported the primary care, pain and mental injury categories and still practises as a General Practitioner specialising in occupational medicine.


Tim Sissons - MBA, LLB, BA

Tim Sissons is an experienced Christchurch-based commercial solicitor with a background in management and business development, Tim has an MBA from John Hopkins University, USA a BA (Political Science and Classical History) and an LLB from the University of Canterbury. Tim holds governance roles on the Christchurch Diocesan Foundation and the NZ Metropolitan Trotting Club. He is currently a Managing Partner of Hill Lee & Scott. His professional experience includes working in product development and innovation at Walgreens Conshohocken, USA; consultant for Esportif International (NZ) Limited and Staff Solicitor/Associate for Saunders Robinson Brown, in Christchurch.


Steve Goldsworthy - Bcom, CA, GAICD

Steve Goldsworthy is Group Chief Finance Officer for St John of God Health Care. He was appointed December 2017. Steve has over 18 years’ experience in finance working in Australian and American listed multi-national companies, working in Australia and Canada. He has previously held senior finance roles at Austal Ltd, Cliffs Natural Resources and Schlumberger and is a Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants.